Psalm 145–Meditate?

On the glorious splendor of your majesty, and on your wondrous works, I will meditate.  -Psalm 145:5 (ESV)

I will speak of the glorious honour of thy majesty, and of thy wondrous works.  -Psalm 145:5 (KJ)

Meditate?  When I think of meditation, my mind immediately goes to eastern religions–Buddhism, Taoism, Hinduism, Jainism, New Agers, etc.  The word meditate here means to ponder, to converse with oneself , muse, pray. Here we are told to meditate, but perhaps the focus of the meditation will reveal the difference.   What are we to meditate upon?

1. The splendor of His majesty— the glorious honor of His majesty.

Admittedly, my mind resists that description.  Too many intangible things to grasp–glory, honor, splendor, majesty, they all slip off and fail to hold.

One at a time…

glorious– weight, splendor, copiousness, abundance, riches, honor, but a noun–not an adjective

majesty–old English word, greatness, a monarch of the very highest rank, grandeur, imposing form and appearance

I can’t help but think of this song from Delirious when I think of majesty:

The concept is hard to grasp, elusive because we cannot wrap our minds around the greatness of God.  In looking at a mountain in the distance, we know by approximate experience how big it must be.  Yet it is only when we get into the mountain, climbing it physically, that we can better understand its relation to the smallness of our little frames.  God is great like that, His majesty is beyond our comprehension, yet we are told to meditate upon it anyways, perhaps to gain a slightly better sense of our humble size and mind against the backdrop of His weight and glory.

2 thoughts on “Psalm 145–Meditate?

  1. This is certainly my initial stop by and I really like what I’m seeing. Your weblog is so much fun to look over, quite compelling as well as informative. I’ll undoubtedly recommend it to my friends. Nevertheless, I did have some problem with the commenting. It kept giving me an problem whenever I clicked on publish comment. I hope, that can be fixed. Many thanks

    • Giovanni,

      Thanks for your encouragement–I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. Not sure why you had problems with publishing your comment. I am new to the blog thing and will see if there’s something I can do to correct it.

Leave a Reply

